Suicide Squad Movie Review

So I’m not a DC Comics type of persons I am way more of a Marvel person but I really wanted to see this movie from the first time the trailer came out, and it didn’t disappoint me! At all. It was like the best movie ever but it definitely held its ground with the other comic book movies in my opinion. I absolutely loved the characters and how they were portrayed and would see this movie again in a heart beat.

Here is what the Suicide Squad is all about:

Figuring they’re all expendable, a U.S. intelligence officer decides to assemble a team of dangerous, incarcerated supervillains for a top-secret mission. Now armed with government weapons, Deadshot (Will Smith), Harley Quinn (Margot Robbie), Captain Boomerang, Killer Croc and other despicable inmates must learn to work together. Dubbed Task Force X, the criminals unite to battle a mysterious and powerful entity, while the diabolical Joker (Jared Leto) launches an evil agenda of his own.

I know there were a lot of things people were very skeptical about was Jared Leto as the Joker. The Joker has be portrayed by several different people through out the years and
everyone has been different and everyone has there opinions on who was the best. Here is where my whole knowledge of the DC Comics as in besides the comic books and cartoon television shows this is the first live action version of the Joker I have ever seen. I know thats bad because I heard from people that Heath Ledger was the best Joker, i’ll watch it one day. But in my opinion Jared did really well as Joker, he wasn’t in the movie as much as I expected but he did do really well.

All of the characters were really good and besides Harley Quinn I really did love Will Smiths character, Headshot. He was that bad guy who had a family that kept getting inside of his head. Before this movie I didn’t know who most of the characters were and the only one, besides Harley Quinn and The Joker, the only character I recognized was the Killer Croc and only because he was in an episodes of The Flash on the CW. I recognized all of the people playing the characters I just didn’t recognize the characters themselves. I didn’t stop me from enjoying the movie because to be honest before watching my first ever Marvel movie, which was Iron Man, I didn’t know any of the marvel characters either.

Another thing I knew was really bothering people was the way that Harley Quinn was dressed in the movie. In the comics she wears a red and black jester looking costume and in the movie she is in more red and blue and in a shiny jacket and shorts with a shirt that says “Daddy’s Lil Monster”. I thought the outfit in the movie was very well done. Although the shorts were really short and I know Margot Robbie herself said that she didn’t like how short they were so we are not alone on that opinion. Boys may have other ideas. But I thought brought a very child like appearance to the character of Harley Quinn and they way that Margot brought her character to life went along very well with the outfit of choice. I do like how they did show the jester costume at one time just to bring homage to the character.

I know one thing people said about the movie that the worse part of it all was the character of the Enchantress. The character played by Cara Delevingne. I read a review saying that her portrayal of the character was what made the movie really bad and yes she didn’t do a great job but you have to keep in mind that she was a model first not an actress. She is still trying to get her acting skills up to par of those others in this movie. I do think that this movie was a little to far fetch for her, I think she needs to do more smaller movies or independent movies before she tries and goes for another big named movie like this one.

I would give this movie a 4 out of 5 stars because it was a good movie. The story line was a little weird but over all a good movie in my opinion. If you have seen this movie what did you all think about it?

“What was that? I should kill everyone and escape. Sorry. The voices. Ha ha I’m kidding. That’s not what they really said.”

xxx Lauren Amanda

Leave a Reply

