Don’t Breathe Movie Review

So I went and saw a horror movie…I deserve a reward for this. So Friday was my friend from work last day at work before she went back to school and my sister and I decided to take her out to dinner and a movie to keep her distracted from the days to come. So first we went to dinner at Panera and got some food and our first idea was to go see Suicide Squad but Maggie kept saying over and over again that she wanted to see the movie Don’t Breathe and being the nice people we are we told her we would go. If you don’t know what the movie is about (because I didn’t) this is the synopsis…Rocky (Jane Levy), Alex and Money are three Detroit thieves who get their kicks by breaking into the houses of wealthy people. Money gets word about a blind veteran who won a major cash settlement following the death of his only child. Figuring he’s an easy target, the trio invades the man’s secluded home in an abandoned neighborhood. Finding themselves trapped inside, the young intruders must fight for their lives after making a shocking discovery about their supposedly helpless victim.

I am not the biggest fan of horror movies and was kind of scared to go see this movie but I was kind of interest to see this movie. It was different then other movies and the story behind it was quite cool. So we went and saw the movie being prepared to be scared out of our lives but to be honest in my opinion it wasn’t all that scary. It was way more suspenseful for me then scary. The people behind us talked through the whole previews and one of the things I over heard one of them say was that the review in my hometown said that you would be scared during the movie but wouldn’t leave being scared. That is exactly how I felt. I kept covering my eyes during the movie but once I left the theater I wasn’t afraid of nightmares to come lol.

The cast was amazing! I had seen most of them in other films and it was cool to see them in this type of movie. Like Alex who is played by Dylan Minnette who I had seen in the Goosebumps movie that came out last year (I think) and this was a much more grown up movie for him and he did really well. Jane Levy who played the girl in the movie Rocky I thought wasn’t going to do so well. I didn’t like her attitude at the beginning of the movie and didn’t like how she acted but she deffinetly got better as the movie went on.

The the blind man and literally through out the whole movie I think we only know him as the blind man but OH MY GOSH he was so creepy. I don’t want to give away anything from the movie but there was one scene where he turned off the lights and they couldn’t see anything but he has everything memorized because he is blind and I literally was on the edge of my seat the whole entire time during that scene. It was so suspenseful! There was one other character you meet name Money and I wasn’t the biggest fan of him at all but…well if you see the movie or have seen it you’ll understand. He just wasn’t my favorite character and the way it was portrayed just made me cringe.

Now my sister is not a fan of horror movies at and come to find out as the movie started neither is Maggie so we all kind of looked at each other and was like “what the heck are we doing here” but I asked Caitlyn the next morning and Maggie the next evening when I was helping her pack that neither one of them was that scared either and they believed as well that it was just suspenseful to them.

I would consider seeing this movie again and that is so weird to typed down for you all. It was just an all around good movie. I would rate it 4/5 stars in my book. I know others won’t because the guys behind us who talked through all of the previews said at the end of the movie that they didn’t like it at all. So opinions are opinions.

If you have seen this movie I would love to know what you thought about all of it.

xxx Lauren Amanda

 

 

Leave a Reply

