Nerve…had me on the edge of my seat!

Are you a Watcher or a Player?

Friday night my sister and I were going to meet a friend to see this movie. Unfortunately last minute our friend had to back out but we saw this movie anyway, and I’m glad we did.

I am a fan of both Emma Roberts and Dave Franco so I had always been so excited to see this movie since I saw the trailer the first time. If you don’t know what this movie is about here is the synopsis:

Industrious high school senior Vee Delmonico (Emma Roberts) is tired of living life on the sidelines. Pressured by her friends, Vee decides to join Nerve, a popular online game that challenges players to accept a series of dares. It’s not long before the adrenaline-fueled competition requires her to perform increasingly dangerous stunts. When Nerve begins to take a sinister turn, Vee finds herself in a high-stakes finale that will ultimately determine her entire future.

This movie is based off a book of the same name that came out in 2012 and is written by author Jeanne Ryan. The gist of the book/movie is people either sign up to be a player or a watcher in a game of truth or dare but there is no truth it is all dares.

Emma Roberts really does bring the character of Vee alive in this movie. She plays the background character of her friend Sydney really well and then comes to life after her first dare. It is a movie that brings the characters of Vee and Ian on a trip of a lifetime around New York and Vee figures out that she was only living in the sideline because she wasn’t brave enough to be in the front but this game helps her out.

The movie had me watching scenes through my hands and laughing along with certain lines and situations but it also had me
on the edge of the theater seat towards the end.

The cast was a great selection of people and it was cool to see some YouTubers in it who were other players that didn’t succeed in the game. Machine Gun Kelly who is a rapper was in this movie and was REALLY good. I had only ever seen him one other time in and episode of CatFish but that wasn’t acting this one was and he did really good. I enjoyed to see him in this kind of setting. Dave Franco was really good as well. His character of Ian
had several different emotional moments and had an interesting background as well that was a really cool addition to the movie. He also looked really good through out the movie 🙂

One other actress in the movie that I had actually never seen before was Emily Meade who played the character of Sydney, Vee’s best friend. She was the player/character that got Vee into playing the game to show people she wasn’t
afraid. Sydney’s character was the best friend who did everything she could to be the spotlight. This game was what helped her stay in the spotlight but when Vee starts playing she see’s how she is and how jealous she actually is of Vee’s life and they learn there true feelings towards each other.

In my opinion it was an all around good movie. The cast was great. The story line was really fun and the way the story was brought to life was great. I hope when I read this book that it is as good as the movie and I can tell you all that the story was brought to life the way that the book intended it to be!

I would see this movie again and again and I will buy it when it comes out. Also as I type this I am listening to the book on audible. I’ll have a review of the book when I finish it!

Let me know what you think of the movie!

xxx Lauren Amanda

 

 

Leave a Reply

