I’m Learning French…again

So I decided I wanted to learn a language and had seen Courtney Eaton learning French on Duolingo.com and decided I would check it out. In high school as part of our credits we either had to take 3 years of one language or 2 years of two different languages. I had plans to take 3 years of one language but when I saw my sister struggling in 3rd year Spanish I knew that there was no way I would be able to do it, so that is when I decided 2 years of two different languages was what I was going to do.

I took 2 years of Spanish and then switched and took 2 years of French. They were both very fun languages to learn but I knew I loved the French language more. So when I went onto Duolingo.com I decided I would try and learn French again. The best part about all of this is that its FREE!

When you first get on the page you click get started and then select what languages you want to learn and the list to select from is actually quite cool to see here is what you can pick from: Spoiler there are 28 you can pick from!

  1. Spanish
  2. French
  3. German
  4. Italian
  5. English (if this is not your first language)
  6. Portuguese
  7. Dutch
  8. Irish
  9. Danish
  10. Swedish
  11. Russian
  12. Polish
  13. Esperanto
  14. Turkish
  15. Vietnamese
  16. Hebrew
  17. Norwegian
  18. Ukrainian
  19. Welsh
  20. Hungarian
  21. Greek
  22. Czech
  23. Swahili
  24. Romanian
  25. Hindi
  26. Indonesian
  27. Klingon
  28. Korean

After you decide what language you want to learn you get the following pages. You can decide to start from the beginning with the language you have chosen or if you know some of it you can take a placement test and it will put you at the starting point of where you need to be.

Since it has been a few years since I have taken a French class I decided to start from the beginning. Once you have selected that you chose your daily goal. Casual is 5 minutes, Regular is 10 minutes, Serious is 15 minutes and Insane is 20 minutes. Whatever you pick is just a goal its not what you are limited to, you can keep going as long as you want to during the day you just want to try and do it for as long as you selected your goal to be. I selected Regular but usually do more than 10 minutes.

Another cool thing is you are not limited to one language. If you want to try and learn more than one language at a time you are able to or once you finish learning a language and want to try another one you can do that too!

These are some of the screens you see while learning the language. It shows you pictures and you have to choose which one goes with whatever you are translating and another screen is you have to translate what is there from the language you chose to English or from English to whatever language you chose. Another screen which I have only seen once was where you had to speak into a microphone what was up on the page. Since I do this a lot in a room with a lot of people I chose to turn the microphone off and not do the speaking portion of the testing. If you want to talk then go ahead I just chose to turn this feature off.

If you get stumped during the typing parts of the learning are you are able to hover over the word you don’t remember and it will give you the translations of the word. You just have to pick the right word to use during the sentence. If you get the translation right the bottom part of the screen will be green. If you get it wrong the bottom part of the screen will be red, it will tell you what the right answer is and it will ask you the question again at the end.

Through out the learning process you will get different things at the end of the lesson. Like your percentage of how fluent you are, if you leveled up or earned XP points and if you earned red rubies. This is just a fun little add on to kind of show you how far you have gotten. Hey I believe being 4% fluent in French is cool 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 2.55.22 PM

Now the screen above is the different sub categories of each Basic level. They change from Basic to Phrases to Animals to Food to Plural to Colors, etc., etc. Most of them have about 5 lessons under each category but some can have any from 1-10 lessons and you are able to redo them if you want to. A fun thing is you have to pass the lesson before you can go onto the next one and you have to pass so many skills before going onto the harder skills.

Another fun thing about this is when you create an account (which it will ask you to do after finish the first lesson) you can then download the app (or you can start this way) and you can learn a few lesson while away from the computer. The app and computer will sync together so that you can learn the lesson when and wherever you are and not lose track of your progress.

I love when you are able to do this because I am not always on my computer or on my phone and I want to be able to learn a few things at whatever time I want to. I do this same thing when writing blog post I have the WordPress app so if I’m not on my computer and want to type up a post for you I can do it when I want to.

I would love to know if you have been using the site to learn a language or if you are going to start using it.

What language did you pick to learn?

Is this your first time learning another language? If not what other languages can you speak?

What language should I try next?

Can’t wait to hear what you all think of this website/app and if you all decided to try it out!

xxx Lauren Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

