Stranger Things…

Over the last week I watched the entire first season of the Netflix Original series Stranger Things and my reviews are a little…mixed.

I had seen the poster of this on Netflix advertising when it was going to start and it intrigued me a little and was kind of excited to watch it but I also forgot when it was going to start until I went over to my friends house and saw her and her parents watching it. So I went home and started watching it that night.

For all of you that don’t know what it is about here is a little synopsis…“This thrilling Netflix-original drama stars award-winning actress Winona Ryder as Joyce Byers, who lives in a small Indiana town in 1983 — inspired by a time when tales of science fiction captivated audiences. When Joyce’s 12-year-old son, Will, goes missing, she launches a terrifying investigation into his disappearance with local authorities. As they search for answers, they unravel a series of extraordinary mysteries involving secret government experiments, unnerving supernatural forces, and a very unusual little girl.” 

There are only 8 episodes of this series and I probably really enjoyed the first few episodes and it kind of got weird/dragged on a little. It’s a great idea of a story but it just got weird and I knew it would and expected it to be but still didn’t enjoy how weird it got. I feel the same way about another Netflix Original series called Hemlock Grove but i’ll talk about that at another time. The episodes are like chapters of a book, each episode is like Chapter 1:The Vanishing of Will Byers… Chapter 2: The Weirdo on Maple Street, etc. I did enjoy that part of the series how they treated it like a book and it might actually be a good book 😉

Winona Ryder’s character was very acted out and how they would feel if your child had disappeared but my favorite characters were the kids. They chose a great cast of young actors and they kept the story the way it should be and no characters changed through out the series they all stayed in the same mind set from the beginning.

It was weird though I saw the actors and was liked “I’ve seen that person before” but when I looked them up on IMDB they hadn’t been in anything I had seen before.

The idea of the series was a great original idea but I feel like it could have been made into a movie type thing instead of a series. I would have probably finished it in one sitting if it had been a movie instead of a series. I would love to know what you all thought of this series if you have watched it or what you look forward to if you are planning on watching it.

xxx Lauren Amanda

Leave a Reply

