My Anxiety…is Weather


Growing up my biggest fear was storms. I never wanted to be caught in one and I never wanted to be away from home when one was happening. There were days were I would cry because of storms, I would be physically sick and there were days I would hide in my room. 

A few years ago we had a massive storm called a derecho blow through my hometown and win my luck I drove straight through the heart of it. Just imagine how I felt. Not only was I driving I had a small child in the car as well. 

I remember the night like it was yesterday. We were out having dinner with friends after there daughters softball game and I got a text from my grandma said a big storm was going to pass through and we should start heading home. So we paid for our food and loaded up in the car and headed home. I decided to take the interstate because it would get us home faster, unfortunately in doing that we drove straight into the storm. 😦

I said road signs flying off there post, trees knocked over and cars pulled over. I decided to get off the interstate and take the back roads so I could drive slower. I had to turn around multiple times because roads were closed. What would have been a 10 minute drive turned into an hour drive home. The second I stepped into my grandmothers house the tears started flowing. I never wanted to do that again. 

The other week another storm passed through, not as bad as the derecho but to me it doesn’t matter. I remember pulling over into a parking lot and having a full blown panic attach and calling my sister repeating “I can’t do it, I can’t do it” she had to calm me down over the phone and then call my mom to meet me where I was at. 

Anxiety can be anything. It can be caused by anything. Mine happens to be storms. I don’t like them and part of me knows that I might never get over this fear. Don’t be ashamed to be afraid of something, my friends know I don’t like being out in storms and will work with me to stay calm. 

xxx Lauren Amanda

(Picture from WeHeartIt)

Leave a Reply

