The Austere Academy by Lemony Snicket Book Review

Another book down in the record books.  This is book 5 in the series but it is the 22nd book I have finished this year so far!!!! I probably haven’t read this many books in like 3 years this is amazing! and to top this my reading challenge for the year is 25 book so I might have to add a couple more books to the challenge 😉

I am absolutely enjoying reading/re-reading these books.  I actually went to go buy book 7 so when I finish the next book i’ll be reading to continue but the Barnes and Noble I went to didn’t have it in stock 😦

This like, the other books, is quite middle grade and so the story line is still bothers me that they are so naive that they don’t see what’s going on?

The characters are growing (a little) but the one thing that bothers me is that the kids are smarter and are figuring things out faster than adults. Yes I do know that kids can be quite smart and could be smarter than adults but what I don’t understand is how they can’t figure out it’s Olaf when all he is doing is wearing a hat? a hat for goodness sake!

While reading, yes it is a great story line but this is written for 10-13 year olds (or something around that) and I am 26 years old reading this so I have to get reminding myself that.  I feel like I would have my kids (when I have them) read this to see what they like because I do enjoy this and I can see why I enjoyed it as a kid and why it sells so well.

If I remember correctly this is the last book I read when I was a kid so from here on out the last few books of the series are going to be completely new to me. I have no idea what is going to happen and I can’t wait to see what happens!

xxx Lauren Amanda

ps. as I read over this I feel like I keep repeating myself. Maybe next week it will be a different book instead of the next book of this series to see if my reviews change. We’ll see 🙂

Leave a Reply

