Audiobooks: My Opinion!


The new thing on the block when it comes to books is audiobooks.  Growing up my grandma was always listening to an audiobook in the car or on the CD player at her house. Now there is an app for it.

I have truly loved Audible in the past few months, it has helped me get further along in achieving my book reading challenge this year.  This is the first year I have set a goal with how many books I am going to read because I am not much of a reading and wish I was.  My goal this year is 25 books and with the help of Audible I have finished 19 books so far. Yay!

Audible is a monthly subscription where you can decide if you get one or two book credits a month.  I only do the one book a month and it has worked very well for me.  Now just because you pick the one book a month does not mean you can’t get other books, the one credit is just for a free book you can buy as many others as you would like.

My top 5 audiobooks so far are:

  1. The Harry Potter Series
  2. The Series of Unfortunate Events Series
  3. The Siren by Kiera Cass
  4. The Mortal Instrument Series
  5. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series

Growing up my reading level was below grade level, I couldn’t comprehend what I was reading and my mom considered dyslexia.  We did figure out that I did not have dyslexia I was just unable to comprehend what I was reading and so because of that I just stayed away from reading and was never in the know when it came to what my friends were reading.  It was years later I decided to pick up the Harry Potter books and start reading and by this point most of my friends had finished them.

Hearing the book and getting to bring the characters to life without seeing them is one of my favorite parts of Audiobooks.  The Harry Potter books and the Lemony Snicket books are some of my favorites to listen to because they bring the story to life. Now I know both of these books have been brought to the big screen and why couldn’t I just imagine those people reading it to me as I read along, it’s not the same – at least to me.

If you would enjoy listening to a book instead of reading it I would consider trying the Audible book for the 30 day free trial. It’s worth it and one free book to listen to might help you out with your decision.

xxx Lauren Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

